IOP Computational Physics Group Annual PhD Thesis Prize 2018

The Committee of the Institute of Physics Computational Group offers an annual thesis prize for the author of the PhD thesis that, in the opinion of the Committee, contributes most strongly to the advancement of computational physics. Runner-up prizes may also be awarded. Prize winners will be invited to write a feature article in the Computational Physics Group newsletter.

Applications for the 2018 prize are encouraged across the entire spectrum of computational physics. Entry is open to all students from an institution in the UK or Ireland, whose PhD examination has taken place since 1st January 2017 and up to the deadline for submissions.

Deadline: 30th April 2018

Submission format

+ A four page (A4) summary from the student of the key research findings contained in the thesis 

+ A one page (A4) citation from the PhD supervisor, including confirmation of the date of PhD examination, that the student passed and whether the thesis has also been submitted to another IOP group for a similar PhD thesis prize

+ A one page (A4) confidential report from the external examiner of the PhD thesis

Candidates are asked to note that if a similar thesis prize is offered by another IOP group (such as the Theory of Condensed Matter group), the Committee intends to liaise with that group so that both prizes will not be awarded to the same applicant.

Entries (PDF documents preferred) and any queries should be submitted by email, with "IOP CPG Thesis Prize" as the subject header, to Arash Mostofi ( A few more details and a list of previous awardees can be found at


Follow @tyc_london for updates from the Thomas Young Centre.